Skip to main content

IIC colour logo with Axrem logo



2023 Speakers

Subpage Hero

Dimitra Darambara

Dr Dimitra Darambara

Team Lead of Multimodality Molecular Imaging, Institute of Cancer Research & Royal Marsden NHS Trust

Dr Dimitra Darambara leads the team and translational lab of Multimodality Molecular Imaging- Instrumentation at Radiotherapy & Imaging Division of the Institute of Cancer Research and the Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, London, UK. Previously, she held Senior Research Fellow positions at Yale University, CERN, University College London and University of Surrey always sponsored by prestigious personal research career development fellowships. Her research interests include conceptual design, development and realisation of emerging quantitative medical imaging techniques and innovative instrumentation, x-ray photon-counting and multi-spectral semiconductor detectors and imaging and advanced in-silico computational simulations for novel imaging system performance optimisation and evaluation from design to implementation. She is a world leader in developing innovative detector instrumentation, which shapes medical imaging and transforms healthcare.

She has been an active member of the IOP (including past Chair of Medical Physics Group), IPEM, ESMI and IEEE. She served as Chair, Board of Trustees of Mayneord-Phillips Trust and holds a position on the Healthcare Community of Interest Group, Royal Academy of Engineering. She was the Chair of the 2019 IEEE Medical Imaging Conference (MIC) and serves as elected member on the IEEE Nuclear Medical and Imaging Sciences Council. She has been appointed by the IOP, IPEM and BIR as the Head of Faculty of 2022 MPEP Summer School on “Advances in Solid State Detectors for Early Diagnosis”. She was the Guest Editor of IEEE TRPMS special thematic issue on “Single Photon Counting Spectral X-Ray CT Imaging”, member of the National Organising Committee of the international conference on Position Sensitive Detectors, a key member of ATTRACT R&D&I Independent Committee, which funds detection & imaging innovation in Europe and in the STFC Cancer Diagnosis Network+ leadership team addressing innovative technology for cancer diagnosis challenges. She was awarded the prestigious Phillips Award by the Institute of Physics in 2019 for her significant contributions to physics and for championing Medical Physics