Skip to main content

IIC colour logo with Axrem logo



2023 Speakers

Subpage Hero

Nasir Rajpoot

Professor Nasir Rajpoot

Professor of Computational Pathology, University of Warwick

Hailing from the ancient Asian city of Multan, Nasir Rajpoot is the GSK Professor of Computational Pathology at the University of Warwick and Honorary Scientist at the Department of Pathology, University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire (UHCW) NHS Trust. Prior to completing his PhD in Computer Science from Warwick in 2001, he was a Postgraduate Research Fellow in the Applied Math program (partially based at the School of Medicine) at Yale University (USA) during 1998-2000 and a Systems Engineering Fellow at PIEAS (Pakistan) during 1994-1996.

Prof Rajpoot is the founding Director of Tissue Image Analytics (TIA) Centre (previously the TIA lab) at Warwick since 2012 and also co-Director of the recently funded £15m PathLAKE centre of excellence on AI in pathology since Jan 2019. The focus of current research in TIA Centre led by Prof Rajpoot is on AI and machine learning algorithms for the study of histological and multi-omic markers of cancer biology, with applications to early detection of cancer and stratification of cancer patients in terms of recurrence, progression and response to therapy. He has been active in the digital pathology community for almost two decades now and has delivered over 80 invited and keynote talks since 2015 at various national and international events and institutions.

Prof Rajpoot recently served as President of the European Congress on Digital Pathology (ECDP), which took place at Warwick in April 2019. Previously, he served as the General Chair of the UK Medical Image Understanding and Analysis (MIUA) conference in 2010 and as the Technical Chair of the British Machine Vision Conference (BMVC) in 2007. He co-chaired several meetings in the histology image analysis (HIMA) series since 2008 and served as a founding PC member of the SPIE Digital Pathology meeting since 2012. He is a Senior Member of IEEE and member of the Association of the Computing Machinery (ACM), the British Association of Cancer Research (BACR), the European Association of Cancer Research (EACR) and the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO).